top of page

Welcome!

I am Dr. Narketta Sparkman-Key (Dr. Key), welcome to Executive Presence, my official blog. This blog is designed to share my perspectives and experiences through the lens of a black woman, higher ed leader and scholar educator. This blog will explore current trends in higher education and perspectives as it pertains to my role as Associate Provost for Inclusive Strategies and Equity Initiatives and my evolution into leadership. I also bring into this my journey as a full professor of education and how that informs my day-to-day journey. This blog is my perspective only and doesn’t reflect my institution’s values, but this blog does derive from current research and industry trends. I will often share my intersecting identities as they inform my focus on academic wellness.


So, who am I, I was born and raised in Detroit, MI. A decade ago I took a position as a tenure track human services assistant professor. As a single mom, I relocated my children and I to Virginia. I raised my children in Virginia, and they are both young adults now. I am a wife, stepmom, and a dog mom. I am an advocate for marginalized populations and that informs my research agenda. I have a particular interest in suicidal ideation and have been trained to recognize, respond and investigate. In addition, I am a black woman navigating higher education while experiencing it through the eyes of my mentees. I have a particular interest in higher education leadership and systematic barriers to BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, people of color) scholars and students.


As I grapple with the issues within my area of influence, I am conscious about how underrepresented populations are disadvantaged. This blog will be used to grapple with some of these issues. I also believe in staying abreast of issues through reading. Books tell us the big picture better than the media, so I will often share what I am reading to trigger discussion. My hope is that this blog brings innovative ideas, delivers some transparency, and helps us all grow in a new exciting way to transform the academy and evolve as leaders.









bottom of page